Wednesday on the Steel Monster

15 Sep

Yesterday I took my bike, Roo, to the bike shop to get the rear brake cable and the cadence meter fixed. They were quite busy even though it is “off-season” here in Naples. Glen said it would be Thursday before Clint could get to my bike. Ugh! While I was at the bike shop I looked around to see what Clint had on the floor. It looks like he is no longer selling Giants and Quintanna Roo’s because all he has now are Trek bikes.

Since Roo was in the bike shop, I had to ride the Old Steel Monster. So last night I made a few adjustments, lubed the chain and brakes. This morning I was dreading riding the Old Steel Monster as I pumped up her tires. She seemed to do ok with no squeaks or complaints. When I met up with Tony I told him he should go on ahead without me since I was going slow and would hold him back. He said what do you mean slow your doing 18.5 mph! I looked at the speedo and he was right! I was surprised since I felt like I was going slow. It was a little windy because of Ivan off shore by 200 miles, but I was able to kept up with Tony, although I think he was holding back on the straight because of going into the wind.

So here’s today’s totals:

Weather:

Sky Partly Cloudy

Temp 74

Humidity 68%

Wind: SSW 12 kts

Distance 21 miles

Ave Speed 17.2

Max Speed 23.0

Ave HR: 138

Time in Zone 3: 54 min

Ave HR in zone 3: 137

Overall time 1:14

7 Responses to “Wednesday on the Steel Monster”

  1. Anonymous September 16, 2004 at 2:16 am #

    It just goes to show that “it’s not about the bike”! The Roo is a fine machine, but in reality the bike is a very small part of the equation… the rider is what really matters.I too am a 50+ guy with some athletic inclinations, so I enjoy reading your blog from time to time. Keep up the fine work!-Dan Coyhttp://coach.dancoy.com

  2. Lockheed Hayheehoo Macedon December 4, 2004 at 3:36 pm #

    Old man? Hahah. You’re not old. You’re not that lucky.Anyways, looking for leverage debt financiers for my hedgefund. Are you interested?

  3. Matilda444 September 21, 2005 at 12:33 am #

    I’m a part time Naples resident in need of a bike mechanic for my beloved but aging Trek Y5-0. Would you please share the name, address, phone number via email of your LBS. This next trip will be a quick one, so I would like to arrange to work ahead of time.Thanks!Matilda444@removeMatilda444.comhttp://www.matilda444.com

  4. Rick J April 30, 2006 at 7:43 pm #

    I have been following a site now for almost 2 years and I have found it to be both reliable and profitable. They post daily and their stock trades have been beatingthe indexes easily.Take a look at Wallstreetwinnersonline.comRickJ

  5. Anonymous June 27, 2006 at 5:35 am #

    Comment

  6. trick bikes July 26, 2006 at 4:22 am #

    Hi Friend! You have a great blog over here!Please accept my compliments and wishes for your happiness and success!If you have a moment, please take a look at my trick bikes site.Have a great day!

  7. Anonymous March 2, 2007 at 9:35 am #

    What a great site » »

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

