Something New

19 Oct

The humid weather returned this morning so rather than run on the dreadmill, which I’m sure you hate as much as I do, I decided to run to the pool and back. I leave the house at 0-dark thirty and at that hour of the morning I thought better of running thru the woods…. you know panthers, bobcats and yes snakes. So it was the long way to the pool 4 miles before sunrise.

When I got to the pool the sun was just coming up giving everything that golden glow, kinda erie. So after doing the snake-walk around the pool looking for snakes that went swimming overnight it was time to hit the laps. This summer we’ve take 4 water moccasins out of the pool gutters. They will not hurt you unless they bite so take them out with a net!

The pool temp has now dropped from 90* to a nice comfortable 82* almost cold. So today was 7 x 20 laps (correction it was 20 laps of a 30 yard pool. the way I could laps with my watch I get confused because I have to double the laps of the watch) with 3 minute rests. As I got going once again I got hot, hot hot…. 4,200 yards.

The 4 mile run back to the house was uneventful other than the sun was up and the temp was 78*… hot!

So there you have it my “new” training. Not really a brick it’s a run-swim-run…RSR?

5 Responses to “Something New”

  1. LouBob October 19, 2006 at 7:22 pm #

    I hate snakes and wouldn’t consider swimming with them even if they didn’t bite. Running with them is bad enough.

  2. Bolder October 19, 2006 at 7:27 pm #

    RSR!82! I don’t even shower that warm.Keep at it though!!!

  3. Comm's October 20, 2006 at 4:33 pm #

    7 x 40 laps on 3 minutes rest. Did I read that right? Thats 14,000 yards if one lap equals 50 yards.

  4. Oldman October 24, 2006 at 2:18 pm #

    Comm your right. I get confused since I use my watch to count laps 2 laps equal one lap on my watch. So when I wrote 40 it should have been 20. The pol is 30 yards not a big 50 yard like most pools soooo… my error but hey I have an excuse I don’t always think straight……brain tumor.

  5. Ziomal October 31, 2006 at 10:37 pm #

    Very nice! I like it. motorcycle helmet visor

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

