To Short For My Weight

6 May

Joe Friel the author of The Triathlete’s Training Bible has a great post regarding Power and Weight. Here is a linky if you are interested. Here is an interesting quote:

The typical, high-performance, male triathlete is in the range of 2.1 to 2.3 pounds per inch (0.38-0.41 kg/cm) with high-performance female triathletes generally being 1.9 to 2.1 pounds per inch (0.34-0.38 kg/cm).

So does this mean that I’m to short for my weight? My docs want me to lose weight – 20 lbs now but this means I need to lose 40 lbs. Wow!

4 Responses to “To Short For My Weight”

  1. Derek May 6, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    I guess you could hold out for a growth spurt!

  2. Oldman May 6, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    to late for that Derek!

  3. Happy Feet 26.2 May 6, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    Thanks for the info. I am currently 1 lb away from the high end of the range, but 15 lbs away from the low end. Yikes! Not sure I could maintain that.

  4. Sherry May 7, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Wow! I’m actually a few pounds under the range for female athletes according to that formula, but I don’t believe it. I have met quite a few elite female athletes who would fall way under that 1.9 lb/inch mark. My husband is 15 pounds away from the higher end for male athletes… and he is SUPER fit! I think he could squeeze off 5-8 pounds if he practically starved himself. He’s 6′ tall and currently anywhere between 178-180. The skinniest (and he was S-K-I-N-N-Y) he has ever been was 169 and that was at the end of military basic training (and 15 years ago)!!!!I normally like Joe Friel, but I’m not liking his formula at all. I still need to clink on the link, but did he give ranges for the average (not high performance) athlete?

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

