Frugal Sunday Cooking

30 Jun

I bought a membership to Costco for “To The Max Home Home Services” and find myself going there every other week if only to buy milk ($3.09 a gallon) and gas for the cars. Each time I’m there, after sampling all the free food, I pick up a rotisserie chicken ($4.99). I can’t even buy a chicken at the local grocery store, roast it and have it cost less.

During the week we have chicken multiple ways…chicken as a main dish, salad with chicken and chicken wraps. So today the carcass gets made into homemade broth.

20130630-122542.jpg

I used my trusty old Cruisinart Electric Pressure Cooker! This cooker showed up on my doorstep two Christmas’s ago. I still don’t know who sent it (thank you, Santa). I haven’t used it in long time and since I didn’t want to fuss and spend a long time cooking I decided to use it to cook the broth.

The broth is simple: 2 onions, 2 celery stalks, 2 carrots peeled all roughly chopped, 2 bay leaves and peppercorns, house water to cover. Set the pressure cooker to,high and the timer for 45 minutes and forget about it!

20130701-114711.jpg Cooked Broth

I drained the broth divided it into two containers, one for the fridge and one for tonight’s lentil soup.

20130701-114854.jpg

Since I had a bunch of bananas that were looking black and ugly, I whipped up a batch of Oldman’s Famous Banana Apricot Bread.

20130701-115058.jpg

It doesn’t take long to prepare and since I get cheap bananas from my produce guy why let them do to waste? It gives us a good snack for the week.

20130701-115246.jpg

Since the pressure cooker was out, I thought I’d use it to make my Sunday Soup, that way when it was done cooking the cooker would keep it warm until we were ready to eat. So here it is, Oldman’s Famous Lentil Soup.

20130701-130847.jpg

I also had to feed my sourdough starter so I made a loaf of sourdough bread to go with the soup.

Question?

What do you like to cook so as to not waste food?

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

