Affordable Health Care, NOT!

22 Aug

Senator Marco Rubio
Washington, DC

Dear Senator Rubio,

As a self-employed small business owner, I currently have a health insurance policy for myself with Humana Health Insurance. Recently, I received notice from Humana that my policy anniversary date needed to be changed from March 2014 to December 2013 to comply with the Affordable Health Care Act. Along with that change, Humana has given me two options for my coverage. First, to remain with my current non-compliant policy until December of 2014 when I would be required to have Humana’s Affordable Health Care Act policy. The second opinion, was to select the compliant policy now at an increase in the monthly premium by $120.00 per month.

To further clarify the coverage the compliant policy would provide for an extra $120.00 per month, I spoke with a Humana representative. During that conversation, I was told Humana was required to provide me with maternity coverage as well as other women’s health coverage such as mammogram and birth control. I explained that as a single, 63 year old male, I did not require nor want women’s health coverage. The Humana representative said that Humana did understand that I had no need for this coverage, but, it was required by the new Federal law that all policies have this coverage.

Senator Rubio, my experience is one of many that small business owners like me face. The Affordable Health Care Act is neither “Affordable” nor quality Health Care. I currently pay a large premium with a high deductible for very little coverage. I believe that the Affordable Health Care Act must be repealed and insurance companies be allowed to provide sensible coverage to small businesses.

Thank you for your service and your time in this matter.
Sincerely yours,

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

