Thanksgiving: My Favorite Cooking Holiday

29 Nov

MediaStream

I’ve always loved Thanksgiving. As a boy growing up in South Jersey it meant Gimbels Thanksgiving Day Parade in Philly, high school football and family Thanksgiving dinner, usually ham!

bchs band

Now that I’m old and living in Florida, Turkey Day has taken on a new perspective. So I thought I’d put together a Q & A regarding Thanksgiving.

What Does Thanksgiving Look Like At Your House? What Kind of Traditions Do You Celebrate?

A group of Flatlanders and I ride to the St. Matthew’s House Gobble-Gobble 4 Miler in Naples, run the race, eat our fill of pumpkin pie at the after-race party and then ride home. When I get home, I prepare a simple breakfast for Joanne and I, usually eggs, bacon, home fries, toast, fruit and coffee. After breakfast clean up it is on to preparing the bird. Joanne is the baker so she is in charge of the pies.The TV is turned on to the football game while we prepare dinner and champagne is served for breakfast and then throughout the day as guests arrive.

Thanksgiving Wouldn’t Be Thanksgiving Without _______________ and _____________________.

Thanksgiving wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without Joanne’s yam yums and her homemade pumpkin pie.

White or Dark Meat?

I have always been parcel to dark meat but i love both especially on a sandwich.

Stuffing or Dressing?

Growing up it was always stuffing, so it has remained so!

Biscuits of Bread?

I make my own whole wheat bread so I’m a bread guy!

Apple or Pumpkin Pie?

Both, Joanne makes the best pumpkin and apple pies, so I have a slice of each with whipped cream on the pumpkin and vanilla ice cream on the apple!

Beer or Wine?

yuengling

I’m both, after breakfast champagne I’ll drink Yuengling Lite, America’s oldest beer and the Tri-Oldman household beer.  Then at dinner I’ll have red wine, I know it should be white! Joanne drinks white, so we have both for our guests.  After dinner we have all kinds of liquors served with cheese, nuts and fruit.  My choice usually is single malt scotch.

turkeycarcass

QUESTION OF THE DAY

What does your Thanksgiving look like?

 

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

