Haunted House

25 Mar

 

new_bates_day

Last night I began to think our house was haunted. No not like those houses in the movies with poltergeists or the like. No haunted by demons determined to keep us awake!

It all began at 3:08 am. There must have been a brief drop in our electric service because the house alarm chirped, not the loud there is a burglar in the house alarm, no the chirp saying the battery back up didn’t kick in in time. When this happens I have to get out of bed and type in the code then hit cancel. Usually I have to do that twice, but last night it took the code the first time. So it was back to bed.

J has not been sleeping well due to her heart condition and high BP, but last night she finally got to sleep only to be awakened by the alarm system. But now we both tried to get back to sleep.

Ten minutes later at 3:18 the smoke alarms sounds for a minute then stops. Once again I get out of bed, walk thru the house to make sure the electrical surge did not set something on fire….nothing found. OK back to bed. Try to get to sleep because I want to get up at 5:30 to run before I go to work.

Fifteen minutes late the smoke alarm goes off again! This time for just 20 seconds but enough that I get up again. This time I go into each room turn on the ceiling fans and open the lanai slider for fresh air. My thinking was perhaps there is something in the air that the smoke alarm is sensing. Shutoff fans, close door and go back to bed.

Ten minutes later, yup the smoke alarm goes off again! OK I decide to check the garage. I charged the golf cart early and unplugged the charger before going to bed maybe it was something there in the garage. Nope, nothing. Back to bed.

I think maybe it’s just a demon so I pray. Prayer solves everything, right?

Ten minutes later the smoke alarms go off for 10 seconds. I get spare 9 volt batteries and start looking at the smoke alarms to see if any indicate a low battery. Also I turn on the a/c letting it running thinking the a/c would remove any “smoke”, “odor” or anything else that is causing the alarm to go off.

None of the smoke alarms indicate a low battery, so I sit in the office and read my iPad listening to see which alarm is the first to go off. Nothing for a while. Back to bed.

It’s now 4:30. I think maybe I should just get up go for a run. No, back to sleep is better as I’ve got to be at work early. I set my alarm clock to wake me up in time to go to work. No run this morning.

No more alarms! So what was that?

 

Question

Do you believe in demons?

 

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

