The Race That Never Happened

18 Jan

2015 Naples Half with Tony and Cris

Over the past 15 years, I have finished the Naples Half Marathon 14 times.  It is my favorite local race as it is nearby.  I can wake up 2 hours before the race and make the starting line in pleanty of time.

Another reason I like the race is it goes through Port Royal a very very very wealthy section of Naples.  The homes or should I say mansions are awesome, some more than $50 million!

Of course the race is one of Runners World’s top 10 US races and because it is a great race the Gulf Coast Runners bring in “ringers” to win.  The guy who won last year’s race won the Chicago Marathon only to be DQ’d for testing positive for drugs.

I have planned on this race for months and looking forward to it but God had something else in mind, a tropical storm with high winds, lightening, high winds and yes tornado warnings.  This came on the heals of a violent storm n Friday that saw heavy rain and flooded street and just one week from a tornado that touched down in Cape Coral.

So it came with no surprise when I got up Sunday morning and check my email.  “The race start is delayed until 8am”. My thot was I should have stayed in bed!  I texted my friend Mark as we were going to carpool to the race and discussed the weather.  Then it hit with a vengeance! Heavy rain, lightning and wind.  I knew then it was over, no race.  So I text Mark and went back to bed.

When I got up I learned the race was in fact canceled as there was debris and flooding on he race course.  Between miles 3 & 5 there was knee deep water.

So here is the question. Since I didn’t “do” the race can I wear the race shirt?

 

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

