Weekend In Review

8 Feb
image

Farmers Market Haul

Saturday was a run-around-day. It was a cold morning so I didn’t ride my bike, I know I’m a wimp when it comes to cold weather but I really don’t have any cold weather gear. I can’t see buying a cold weather kit when it is cold for just a few days and I would only wear it once or twice a year.

I went to the Farmers Market.  I was hoping to get some strawberries as they haven’t been available due to the rainy weather we have been having.  Max had some nice looking strawberries from up north, Plant City.  As you can see I bought a few other things for the week.

image

Double Chocolate Banana Bread

I made a Double Chocolate Banana Bread with some of my leftover bananas.  It will give us something to snack on this week.

 

image

Egg on a Homemade French Roll

I made some french bread rolls on Friday and decided an egg on a roll would be a great breakfast.  It was!

J and I cleaned the house.  It doesn’t get that dirty but it has to be done every now and then.

Our friends from Connecticut have rented a condo in a neighboring community, well 6 miles away, so we went to see their condo and have diner with them.

image

Sunday was Super Bowl Sunday so of course I had to buy some snacks at Publix in the morning.  I also put together a pizza dough for my Grandma’s Pie.  Late in the afternoon we had some Pretzel Wheat Beer, Belgian Wheat Beer and some of our snacks.  Notice there are veggies and hummus next to the pepperoni!

image

Shock Top Belgian Wheat

The best was Grandma’s Pizza Pie

image

Here is the pie before it went into the 525* oven.  It has homemade tomato sauce, cheese; provolone and pecorino; sopressatta, hot capacola and fennel, then topped with more pecorino.  The crust is an overnite crust that I started Saturday afternoon.

 

image

Plated Grandma’s Pie

When it is plated greens and a few cherry tomatoes are added along with a drizzle of olive oil.

We watched the entire Super Bowl which is unusual as the game was close all the way to the end.  I was glad Denver won after all the hype about Cam Newton being the up and coming star and Payton Manning was just an old white guy.  It think Mannings huble approach to the game was refreshing.

Did you watch the game?  Who did you root for?

 

 

Leave a Reply

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

bourbonveachdotcom

Bourbon History

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

The Road Less Run

Running, cats & coffee.

Blog – Alastair Humphreys

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

. running with spoons .

... because you can't eat with scissors

Exercise Eat Repeat

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

Follow an average 60 something as he trains for triathlons!

katiesfitscript

This site is the cat’s pajamas

The Keen Peach

A glimpse into the sweet life of a fitness enthusiast and clean eater

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

